[Masthead] Fair ~ 75°F  
High: 81°F ~ Low: 63°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

New council members sworn in

Friday, December 12, 2008

Thomas Landers is sworn in Thursday by Judge Lee Russell to fill the City Council seat of the late Fred Harrison.
(T-G Photo by Brian Mosely)
Newly elected and selected members of the Shelbyville City Council took the oath of office Thursday night, with a series of committee appointments made as well.

First business of the evening was Thomas Landers taking the oath of office to fill the seat of the late Fred Harrison.

Landers said it was an honor that the council selected him for the position and that he would do what he thinks is right for the community.

Kay Rose said she was happy for the opportunity to serve the people again, calling her election "an honor and a challenge, and I will do my best."

Jean Pruitt, left, Jo Ann Holland and Kay Rose took the oath of office from Judge Lee Russell Thursday night during Shelbyville's regular council meeting .
(T-G Photo by Brian Mosely)
"I'm just glad to be back again," said returning member Jo Ann Holland.

Jean Pruitt, elected to the council after a one-term absence, also said it was good to be back. "I enjoyed when I was here before and like always, I'll try to do what the people want."

Outgoing council member Randy Vernon thanked his supporters and the council, saying that being on the board "has been an education."

"If there's anything I can do to help, I'm available," Vernon said. "I have more time."

There was very little business for the council to attend to Thursday, and following the swearing-in ceremony, Mayor Wallace Cartwright made the following appointments to various boards.

* Skills Development Center -- Lee Roy Cunningham

* Airport Authority Board -- Thomas Landers

* Community Development Center -- Kay Rose

* Parks & Recreation Center Board -- Kay Rose

* Senior Citizens Center -- Jean Pruitt

* Stormwater Management Committee -- Jean Pruitt and Al Stephenson

* Historical Zoning Commission -- Lee Roy Cunningham

* Bedford County Railroad Authority -- Al Stephenson

* Greenway Trail Committee -- Jo An Holland

* Industrial Development Board -- Thomas Landers

* Bid committee -- Jean Pruitt and Jo An Holland

Also appointed by the new city council were: City recorder -- Betty Lamb; treasurer -- Gary Cantrell; city judge -- John T. Bobo, city attorney -- Ginger Shofner; and vice mayor -- Kay Rose.

Before new members took the oath, the old council wrapped up a few items, such as electing directors to the new Health, Educational and Housing Facility Board of the City of Shelbyville and Bedford County.

Members on the new board will be Eugene Ray, John T. Pope, David Crowell, Larry Wells, Ron Reed, Wendell Agnew, James Winnette and Anne Blanton. They are the same members who already serve on the Industrial Development Board. The new health board is authorized to enter into payment-in-lieu-of-tax agreements with institutions such as Heritage Medical Center.

A motion was passed to reject a settlement offer in the matter of the lawsuit against the city filed by former codes official Wayne Williams, who is suing his former employer for breach of contract and wrongful termination.

Williams was terminated from his position in May 2006 following action he intended to take in regards to a controversial asphalt plant. He is suing both the City of Shelbyville and City Manager Ed Craig.

Lee Adcock Construction won the contract for rebuilding a wall on the building on East Depot Street that was next to the now-demolished Grapevine with a bid of $21,331.

Passed on third and final reading was a request from Dr. Gerald Martin and Tony Matusek to rezone 40.5 acres of land bordering the north boundary of Wal-Mart on North Main Street from C-2 (highway service district) to PUD (planned unit development).

Also passed on third and final reading was a request to rezone property owned by Michael Owens at 1623 Sims Road from R-1 (low density residential) to R-3 (medium density residential).

An ordinance passed on second reading to rezone property owned by Gary Myers at 904 Whitthorne St. from an 18-unit two-story PUD (Planned Unit Development) to a 15-unit one-story PUD.