[Masthead] Fair ~ 61°F  
High: 73°F ~ Low: 55°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Registration ends July 6 for election

Thursday, June 24, 2010

July 6 is the last day for new or purged voters to register and be eligible to participate in the Aug. 5 primary and general elections.

Early voting will begin July 16 and continue through July 31.

Voters may register in the county election office in the basement of the courthouse, or at any of these other locations:

* County clerk's offices

* Department of Health (WIC program)

* Department of Human Services

* Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation

* Department of Safety (motor vehicles division)

* Department of Veteran's Affairs

* Public libraries

* Register of deeds offices

The August election will be a general election for local offices and a party primary for state offices. The Town of Bell Buckle will also have a general election that day.

Here's a rundown, with (I) indicating an incumbent:


County Mayor

Eugene Ray (I), Democratic nominee


Randall Boyce (I), Democratic nominee

Circuit Court Clerk

Thomas A. Smith (I), Democratic nominee


Tonya Davis, Democratic nominee

County Clerk

Kathy Prater (I), Democratic nominee

Register of Deeds

Johnny Reed (I), Democratic nominee

County Commission

(Two seats per district)

District 1

Bobby Fox (I)

Phillip Vincent (I)

Robert W. Warren

District 2

Robert "Bob" Davis

Bill Sloan

Tony R. Smith (I)

Bobby Vannatta (I)

District 3

Janice L. Brothers (I)

Jimmy S. Patterson (I)

(Georgina Vaughn-Lanier, write-in candidate)

District 4

Billy King Jr. (I)

Jimmy Woodson (I)

Rodney Guinn, Republican nominee

(Anita Epperson, write-in candidate)

District 5

J.D. "Bo" Wilson (I)

Linda Bomar Yockey (I)

District 6

Joe W. Tillett (I)

Jeff Yoes (I)

District 7

Tony Barrett (I)

Denise Graham

(Lizzie M. Peoples, write-in candidate)

District 8

John E. Brown (I)

Ed Castleman (I)

District 9

P.T. "Biff" Farrar (I)

Mark Thomas (I)

Road Board

District 6

No qualified candidates

District 7

Michael Sudberry

District 8

No qualified candidates

District 9

Charles Ronnie Sudberry

School Board

District 2

Ron Adcock (I)

District 3

Rick Gann

Amy Martin (I)

District 4

Sandra Guinn

Diane Neeley (I)

District 6

Andrea Anderson

District 7

Chad D. Graham (I)

Gary Wayne Haile



Dennis Webb (I)


James G. Anderson (I)

Jenny Hunt (I)



Zach Wamp

Bill Haslam

Joe Kirkpatrick

Basil Marceaux Sr.

Ron Ramsey

U.S. House

(Sixth District)

Diane Black

Dave Evans

Gary Dewitt Mann

Bruce McLellan

Kerry E. Roberts

Jim Tracy

Lou Ann Zelenik

Tennessee House

(62nd District)

Joseph C. Byrd

Pat Marsh (I)

Executive Committee


Arthur E. LeGare

Lance Frizzell

Executive Committee (Woman)

Barbara Blanton



Mike McWherter

U.S. House

(Sixth District)

Henry Clay Barry

Devora Butler

Brett Carter

George T. Erdel

Ben Leming

Tennessee House

(62nd District)

Jenny Hunt

Michael Winton

Executive Committee


Mark Farrar

Justin St. Clair

Cory W. Brunson

Executive Committee (Woman)

Kristen M. Cullen

Related subjects