[Masthead] Overcast ~ 55°F  
High: 73°F ~ Low: 49°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Haslam, Tracy, Leming, Marsh, Hunt carry Bedford County in primaries

Friday, August 6, 2010

View unofficial precinct totals here.

Bedford County voters joined their counterparts statewide in choosing Knoxville Mayor Bill Haslam as the Republican nominee for governor and giving complimentary votes to Mike McWherter, son of former Gov. Ned McWherter, as the unopposed candidate for the Democratic nomination. Haslam and McWherter will face each other, and a handful of independent candidates, in November.

A total of 5,739 voters participated in the election. All vote totals are unofficial until certified by the county election commission. Despite a complex ballot and several write-in candidates, precincts reported their results in rapid time to the county election office.

Far more local votes were cast in the Republican primary than the Democratic primary.

Locally, Haslam received 1,781 votes to 1,503 for Lt. Gov. Ron Ramsey, 900 for U.S. Rep. Zach Wamp, 27 for Joe Kirkpatrick and 14 for Basil Marceaux Sr.

6th District U.S. House

State Sen. Jim Tracy preaches patience with his supporters at the Doubletree Hotel in Murfreesboro while waiting for the final votes to trickle in late Thursday night.
(T-G Photo by Danny Parker) [Order this photo]
Bedford County voters strongly backed State Sen. Jim Tracy of Shelbyville in the Republican primary for the 6th District U.S. House seat, but district-wide the race appears to have been won by State Sen. Diane Black of Gallatin. Tracy, Black and Lou Ann Zelenik of Murfreesboro were locked in a close three-way race for the top. Black claimed victory on election night.

But Tracy, in an e-mail statement received by the Times-Gazette after midnight, had not conceded defeat.

"I believe in the electoral process and every vote is important. There are still ballots to be counted. The margin is less than three (3) votes per precinct. We'll wait for the process to be completed and I will be supportive of the wishes of the 6th District," said Tracy.

Locally, Tracy received 3,061 votes to 604 for Zelenik, 259 for Dave Evans of Wartrace and 249 for Black. Other candidates included Kerry E. Roberts (31 votes), Gary Dewitt Mann (19) and Bruce McLellan (14)

On the Democratic side, Bedford County residents supported Ben Leming of Murfreesboro for the 6th District nomination, but the district-wide race was won by Brett Carter of Gallatin. Both Leming and Carter are veterans who campaigned on their military experience; Leming was a career Marine, while Carter, an attorney, served in Iraq with the National Guard. Leming and Carter were in a tight three-way race with attorney Henry Clay Barry of Lebanon.

Locally, Leming got 385 votes to 346 for Carter, 183 for Barry, 103 for Devora E. Butler and 21 for George T. Erdel.

62nd District Tennessee House

Mike Winton congratulates opponent Jenny Hunt for winning the Democratic nomination Thursday in the 62nd State House race to oppose Republican incumbent Pat Marsh in the November general election.
(T-G Photo by Kent Flanagan) [Order this photo]
In the 62nd District State House race, incumbent Pat Marsh of Shelbyville had no trouble, locally or district-wide, holding off challenger Joseph Byrd of Unionville to win the Republican nomination, while on the Democratic side Jenny Hunt of Bell Buckle defeated Mike Winton of Shelbyville for the chance to challenge Marsh in the general election. The district includes all of Bedford County, part of Lincoln and a small part of Rutherford counties.

Locally, Marsh drew 3,577 votes to Byrd's 446, while Hunt drew 680 votes to Winton's 514.

Winton traveled to Hunt's election-night party at Shelbyville Recreation Center to wish her well and pledge his support in the general election.

Bedford County government

Six Democratic nominees for county-wide offices were unopposed in the general election and won complimentary votes. County Mayor Eugene Ray, Sheriff Randall Boyce, County Clerk Kathy Prater, Circuit Court Clerk Thomas Smith and Register of Deeds Johnny Reed won re-election, while Tonya Davis was elected trustee, succeeding Peggy Bush, who did not seek re-election.

County commission: In Bedford County Board of Commissioners races, all 17 county commissioners seeking re-election were re-elected. Some had contested races, others were unopposed.

Contested races were in District 1, where Bobby Fox (413 votes) and Phillip Vincent (328) won over challenger Robert Warren (203); District 2, where Bobby Vannatta (354 votes) and Tony Smith (287) won over challengers Bob Davis (205) and Bill Sloan (169); District 3, where Janice Brothers (454 votes) and Jimmy Patterson (364) defeated write-in candidate Georgina Vaughn-Lanier (6); District 4, where Jimmy Woodson (332 votes) and Billy King (257) held off ballot challenger Rodney Guinn (214) and write-in challenger Anita Epperson (112); and District 7, where incumbent Tony Barrett (273 votes) and newcomer Denise Graham (222) won over a write-in challenge from Lizzie Peoples (47). Incumbent Joyce Tune had qualified to run for re-election but passed away on May 31.

Unopposed commissioners winning re-election included J.D. "Bo" Wilson and Linda Yockey in District 5, Joe Tillett and Jeff Yoes in District 6, John Brown and Ed Castleman in District 8, P.T. "Biff" Farrar and Mark Thomas in District 9.

School board: Incumbent Bedford County Board of Education members whose terms were up for election were also re-elected. In District 3, Amy Martin (323 votes) held off challenger Rick Gann (284); in District 4, Diane Neeley (452 votes) held off challenger Sandra Guinn (152), and in District 7, appointed incumbent Chad Graham (230 votes) defeated challenger Gary Wayne Haile (207).

Chad Graham is the husband of Denise Graham, who was elected to the county commission.

Andrea Anderson in District 6, the only candidate who qualified to run for the seat formerly occupied by Mary Jo Johnson, was appointed to the seat earlier this summer and won election to it Thursday night. Johnson resigned in mid-term.

Ron Adcock in District 2 was unopposed for re-election.

Road board: Two candidates, Michael Sudberry in District 7 and Charles Ronnie Sudberry in District 9, were unopposed for election to Bedford County Road Board, and there were no candidates at all in the District 6 and District 8 races. It is often difficult to fill the Road Board seats representing Shelbyville, since the road board primarily governs road projects outside city limits.

Bell Buckle

Mayor Dennis Webb and alderpersons James Anderson and Jenny Hunt were unopposed for re-election, winning complimentary votes.

Other races

Local GOP voters supported Barbara Blanton of Shelbyville, who was unopposed in her race for the state Republican executive committee, while local Democratic voters supported Mark Farrar of Shelbyville in a three-way race for the Democratic executive committee. District-wide totals weren't immediately available this morning due to a failure of the state's election results web site.

Local voters also voted to retain the two state judges who were on the ballot for yes/no retention votes.

All winners in county-wide races take office Sept. 1.

Related subjects