[Masthead] Overcast ~ 64°F  
High: 80°F ~ Low: 64°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Early voting for August election starts July 13

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Early voting will start July 13 for the Aug. 2 primary and general elections, the first elections since new districts and voting precincts have taken effect.

Legislative districts are redrawn every 10 years as a result of the U.S. Census, so that each district -- city council, county commission, state legislature or U.S. Congress -- in a particular legislative body has roughly equal population. Otherwise, some voters would have more say in the legislative process than others.

As a result of redistricting, Bedford County has been moved from the 6th Congressional District to the 4th. The state senate district containing Bedford County has been renumbered and is now known as the 14th District.

In addition, local officials took the opportunity to make changes in local voting precincts this year, closing seven of the county's 18 polling places.

Voters whose precincts changed should have received new voter ID cards.

The precinct closures, of course, won't really affect those who vote early, since all early voting takes place at the county courthouse. Early voting will take place July 13-28. Hours will be 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through Thursday, 7 a.m. until 4 p.m. Friday, and 9 a.m. until noon Saturday.

According to Bedford County administrator of elections Summer Leverette, the precinct closures were necessary because of problems staffing some precincts and because some of the facilities where voting had been taking place weren't wheelchair-accessible and didn't have mobile telephone coverage or a landline phone.

The August election will primarily be a general election for county offices and a party primary for state and local offices. There are only two contested races in the county general election. No one filed to run for the District 8 school board seat or the District 9 road board seat.

Here's what's on the ballot, with (I) indicating an incumbent:

General election


Jeffrey S. Bivins, Middle Division, Tennessee Court of Criminal Appeals

Roger A. Page, Western Division, Tennessee Court of Criminal Appeals


Ronda Clanton, Democratic nominee (I)


Stanley Smotherman, Democratic nominee (I)


County commissioner, 2-year unexpired term

Duane Carter

Don Gallagher (I)

School Board

Dixie Parker (I)

Road Board

Albert Crosslin (I)


County commissioner, 2-year unexpired term

Robert "Bob" Davis

Michael Gregory

Bill Sloan

Road Board

Wayne Carter (I)


Road Board

Brent Stacy


Road Board

Robert V. McAnally (I)


School Board

Michael A. Cook

Road Board

Frank Bobo (I)


School Board

Andrea Anderson (I)

Road Board

David Gordon (I)


Road Board

Michael Sudberry (I)


School Board

No candidate filed

Road Board

Charles Ronnie Sudberry (I)


School Board

Glenn Forsee (I)

Road Board

No candidate filed


Alderman, two-year unexpired term

James G. Anderson

Alderman, full term (two seats)

J. Edwina Chilton (I)

R. Frank Reagor (I)

Willie Snell

Republican primary

U.S. Senate

Fred R. Anderson

Mark Twain Clemens

Bob Corker (I)

Brenda S. Lenard

Zach Poskevich

U.S. House, District 4

Scott DesJarlais (I)

Shannon Kelley

Tennessee Senate, District 14

Matt Randolph

Jim Tracy (I)

Tennessee House, District 62

Pat Marsh (I)

Democratic primary

U.S. Senate

Mark E. Clayton

Larry Crim

Gary Gene Davis

Dave Hancock

Park Overall

T.K. Owens

Benjamin Roberts

U.S. House, District 4

Eric Stewart

Tennessee Senate, District 14

No candidate filed

Tennessee House, District 62

No candidate filed


Three precincts are changing locations. The Wartrace precinct will move from the town's gymnasium to Wartrace Baptist Church; the Normandy precinct will move from the fire hall to Normandy Baptist Church; and the airport precinct will move from Shelbyville Municipal Airport to Fair Haven Baptist Church.

The new precinct list:

Wartrace Baptist Church

Bell Buckle (Webb School)

Fair Haven Baptist Church

Unionville Fire Hall

Bedford (WBTS Community Center)

Flat Creek Community Center

Normandy Baptist Church

East Side Elementary

Deery Eakin Elementary

Thomas Magnet School

Southside School

Another change in this year's election procedures is that property rights voters -- voters who don't actually live in a city or town but who can vote in that town's elections because they own property -- must go to the county courthouse to vote on Election Day, even if they are voting in Bell Buckle or Wartrace elections.

The county courthouse is the location for early voting for any election, even those specific to Bell Buckle, Normandy or Wartrace.

Related subjects