[Masthead] Fair ~ 41°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 49°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

It's time to cast your vote

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Early voting for the Nov. 6 general election, including the presidential race, begins Wednesday and continues through Nov. 1 in the basement of the county courthouse.

Hours are 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday; 8 a.m. until 6 p.m. Thursday; 7 a.m. until 5 p.m. Friday; and 9 a.m. until noon on Saturday. State-issued or federal-issued photo ID is required, such as a driver's license. A college student ID does not qualify.

The county courthouse is the only location for early voting in Bedford County, including for the Wartrace and Normandy town elections.

For the first time, Tennesseeans will have the opportunity to dedicate their vote in honor of a service member, recognizing the role that service members play in preserving American democracy. To sign up for the Tennessee Honor Vote program, go to govotetn.com/honor.

Candidate list

Here's a list of the ballot candidates.

In the presidential race, of course, voters are actually choosing between slates of electors, not directly for the candidates themselves. That Electoral College system, which dates back to the original U.S. Constitution, is sometimes controversial. However, for clarity, the candidates' names, not the electors' names, are listed on the ballot (and in our list, below).

The list below also includes several presidential candidates who are listed as "independent" on the Tennessee ballot because their parties didn't file the paperwork or meet the qualifications to be recognized on the Tennessee ballot. We've included those party affiliations in parentheses for the presidential candidates.

(I) indicates an incumbent.

President / Vice President

Mitt Romney / Paul Ryan, Republican

Barack Obama (I) / Joe Biden (I), Democrat

Virgil Goode / Jim Clymer, Constitution Party

Jill Stein / Cheri Honkala, Green Party

Ross C. "Rocky" Anderson / Luis J. Rodriguez, independent (Justice Party)

Gary Johnson / James P. Gray, independent (Libertarian Party)

Merlin Miller / Virginia Abernethy, independent (American Third Position Party)

U.S. Senate

Bob Corker (I), Republican

Mark E. Clayton, Democrat

Kermit Steck, Constitution Party

Martin Pleasant, Green Party

Shaun E. Crowell, independent

David Gatchell, independent

James Higdon, independent

Michel Joseph Long, independent

Troy Stephen Scoggin, independent

U.S. House, District 4

Scott DesJarlais (I), Republican

Eric Stewart, Democrat

Tennessee Senate, District 14

Jim Tracy (I), Republican

Tennessee House, District 62

Pat Marsh (I), Republican

Shelbyville City Council, Ward 1

Henry Feldhaus

Jo Ann Holland (I)

Shelbyville City Council, Ward 3

Lizzie M. Peoples

Kay Rose (I)

Shelbyville City Council, Ward 5

Jean Pruitt (I)

Wartrace Board of Aldermen (three seats)

Barnett Payne

Normandy Board of Aldermen (two seats)

Steve Lewis

Mike Mitchell

Related subjects