[Masthead] Mostly Cloudy ~ 64°F  
High: 73°F ~ Low: 49°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Motlow to present 'Wizard of Oz'

Sunday, October 28, 2012

Students in the children's drama class at Motlow College are diligently practicing their roles for "The Wonderful Wizard of Oz," which will open on Nov. 1 in Eoff Hall on Motlow's Moore County campus, according to director Debbie Zimmerman, an associate professor of communications and chairman of Motlow's Humanities Department.

Performances for the public and area school children are scheduled for 10:45 a.m., 12:30 p.m., and 7 p.m. on Nov. 1, and at 9 and 10:45 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. on Nov. 2, 7, 8 and 9.

A reception, open to the public, will begin at 6 p.m. on Nov. 1, followed by the 7 p.m. performance. Zimmerman said special guests will include former Motlow students who were in previous Wizard of Oz productions at the college in 1982 and 1995. Students who were in other plays at the college are invited, also.

The play marks the 30th children's production that Zimmerman has directed at the college, and she says it will be her last. She said she wants to give other Motlow theatre teachers the opportunity to work with children's drama productions.

The play includes characters and some scenes from the 1939 Wizard of Oz movie, but follows the storyline of Frank Baum's book The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, which was first published in 1900.

Although there is no admission charge to the Motlow performances, reservations are required and can be made by calling (931) 393-1700.

The cast includes:

Dorothy -- Allison Marcrom

Toto - Jessica Walker

BOQ - Thomas Meeks

Munchkin - Jenipher Dobbs

Glinda - Akelah Rowe

Wicked Witch - Lauren Miller

Scarecrow - Chris Jones

Tin Woodsman - Drew Holt

Cowardly Lion - Lance Howard

Poppies - Amy Adams, Tori Stephens

Fighting trees - Tiara Willingham, Andrew Layne

China Princesses - Kelly Carver, Paige Matheson

Guardian of Oz - Jacob Hayes

OZ - Alex Czwal

Winged Monkeys - Tori Stephens, Thomas Meeks, Jenipher Dobbs

Aunt Em - Jeanna Anderson

The crew includes:

Sound and lighting - Mark Landrum, David Bethea, Olivia Hiers, Jacob Hayes, Andrew Layne

Stage manager - Amy Adams

Set design - Kurt Kraus and Brian Robinson

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: