'The Schoolmaker' to be staged Nov. 8-11

Sunday, November 4, 2012

The Webb School Players will present "The Schoolmaker: 'Sawney' Webb and the Bell Buckle Story" on Nov. 8-11 in the Black Box Studio. Showtimes are at 7 p.m. on Nov. 8-9 and 2:30 and 7:30 p.m. on Nov. 10-11.

"The Schoolmaker," written by Laurence McMillin, is a biography of Webb's founder Sawney Webb. Since May of 2011, professional playwrights Carol Ponder and Robert Kiefer have been conducting research and interviews in order to adapt the book for the stage.

"It has been our honor and deep delight to partake in this creative process with these students and their teacher. This play is intended to be a first iteration and celebration of a long, wonderful story. Our hope is that future classes of students will choose to contribute new scenes and ideas to this sharing of the story of their Webb School and its founder, Sawney Webb," said Ponder, the lead playwright.

"With Carol's and Robert's careful attention, what a treat it has been for me as director to be a creator, student, participant and spectator -- all in the same afternoon, day after day. The time has flown!" said Ruth Cordell, Webb's theatre program and production director. "It has been our great pleasure to work with these award-winning and seasoned pros in this genre of theatre that is very much a part of educational and community culture." She added, "Thank you, Carol and Robert, for sharing your time and expertise. Thank you for your love, respect and devotion to us and to our Webb story."

The production's ensemble includes Jami Averwater, Eagleville; Sam Fuller, Pensacola, Fla.; Jenna Davis, Tullahoma; Laura Huber, Huntsville, Ala.; Kai Krajack, Nashville; Adam Mansell, Livingston; Madison Kiech, Tullahoma; Izem Ustun, Istanbul, Turkey; and Dwayne Young Jr., Union City, Ga. Music will be provided by Janet Linton, Fine Arts Department chair, and student, Lydia Li, China. Abby Ramey, Hohenwald, is the stage manager/assistant director, and faculty member, Ralph Jones, is the technical theatre director.

Technical crew members include Courtney Sells, Livingston; Tyler Burns, Danville, Ky.; Alex Elliot, Murfreesboro; Carson Bryant, Rockvale; William Barber, New Orleans, La.; John Russell, Tullahoma; Reid Brown, Murfreesboro; Ellis Wiser, Murfreesboro; Bryceton Hadjopoulos, Greeneville; Hae-yun Baek, Busan, South Korea; Madeline Castellon, Metairie, La.; Kaci Dupree, Rockvale; Katie Carter, Murfreesboro; Dongwon Choi, Seoul, South Korea; Tristan Cunningham, Liberty; Jordan McAndrew, Winchester; Essete Tsahai, Murfreesboro; and Stephan Yoon, Korea.

Seats may only be reserved via the web link: live.webbschool.com/tickets. The seating capacity is limited, and reservations are required. Tickets unclaimed by 15 minutes prior to show time will be released to the waiting list and missing student or patron will be responsible for the charge for the unclaimed seat. There is no late seating in the Black Box Theatre, and once inside, audience participants must remain in their seats until intermission and / or closing.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: