[Masthead] Fair ~ 64°F  
High: 81°F ~ Low: 63°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

Chamber accepts nominations for annual awards

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

Each year, the Chamber of Commerce presents four awards to citizens who have demonstrated outstanding commitments to the community. These recognitions are made during the Chamber's annual meeting, to be held Tuesday, Feb. 19.

The Chamber is asking residents to submit one name in nomination for any of the following awards.

The nominations should be received at the Chamber office by 4 p.m., Feb. 1.

Deery Eakin Volunteer of the Year Award

This award is presented annually to someone for exemplary efforts as a volunteer in the community. The award may recognize the leader of a specific project or new volunteer organization, and it shall consider recent volunteer efforts (within the past two years) of the recipient.

Outstanding Leadership Award

This award shall be given for the performance of a special service to the community. Areas for consideration include service in government, education, health, and public safety; this award may also recognize extraordinary acts of heroism.

The recipient, who may be either an individual or a group, shall normally have been working for at least five years in Bedford County for the benefit of citizens.

Special Services Award

This award shall recognize a leader of a program, organization, board, government, or ministry who has exhibited superior initiative and commitment, working with consistent effort for at least 10 years for specific improvement of the community.

This recipient shall be an example of the community's strongest leadership, with a vision for the future of Bedford County and the gift of leading others in dedicated service toward that future.

Franklin Yates Lifetime Achievement Award

By the resolution which originated it, this award is "to be presented periodically to a deserving citizen of the community."

The recipient, minimum age 50, shall be someone whose life's work has made a significant positive influence on the community.

Hallmarks of the recipient shall include leadership, consistent commitment, and a long-term personal investment of time and talents. This recognition shall be given only in exceptional cases, to honor the achievements of a lifetime committed to the well being of our community.

Nominations should include the individual's name and detailed information supporting their qualifications for the award.

Name and contact information of the person submitting the nomination should be included.

How to nominate

Nominations may be dropped off directly, faxed to 684-3483 or e-mailed to bedfordchamber@bellsouth.net.

For more information, call the Chamber, 100 N. Cannon Blvd., at (931) 684-3482.