Celebrating theater, thespians at Community

Friday, May 19, 2017
Alyssa Amos (right) won Best All-Around at this year’s Smokestack Theatre Group End of the Year Show. Here, she portrays Madam Thenardier in last fall’s “Les Miserables.”
Submitted photo

For the 23rd consecutive year, Community High's Smokestack Theatre Group held its' annual End of the Year Awards Banquet. The show/dinner celebrates accomplishments in the theatre arts program, while also acting as an induction ceremony for The International Thespian Society, an actor's fraternity/sorority.

Mattie Herbison (on table) took home the Best On-Stage award for acting. This photo is from last season’s William Inge drama, “Picnic.”
Submitted photo

Community High students, their parents and families, as well as Smokestuck alumni and a sprinkling of teachers, gathered for a meal; dramatic, musical and comedic performances; awards; and the induction ceremony. Eight new thespians joined the school's Troupe 5412: Savannah Naccarato, Will Vaughn, Aislin Storey, Kat Sanders, Tiffany Hopper, Kaylin Perryman, Breanna Meyers, and Courtney Hutchinson. In addition, eight seniors received thespian honor status, a commendation requiring at least 600 hours of work in the theatre arts. They were: David Perez, Nic McCall, Mattie Herbison, Jessica Hesson, Kaitlin Gann, Trey Levy, Elaura Proffitt, and Hayley Overton.

Awards were also presented in five categories. This year's winners were: Best Newcomer, Will Vaughn; Most Improved, Ramiro Rodriquez; Best Off-Stage (a technical theatre award), Elaura Proffitt; Best On-stage (an acting award), Mattie Herbison; Best All-around, Alyssa Amos; Finally, the group's Hall of Fame awards were presented, with seniors Nic McCall and Kaitlin Gann being named winners.

Nic McCall, seen here as Wargrave in this springs’ Agatha Christie thriller, “And Then There Were None,” was named to the drama troupe’s Hall of Fame.
Submitted photo

Map of pertinent addresses