Locals receive state wildlife awards

Sunday, June 4, 2017
Wayne and Adrian Bomar, left, accept their award as state Water Conservationists of the Yea from CEO Michael Butler of the Tennessee Wildlife Federation. (Submitted photo)

Tennessee Wildlife Federation, one of the largest and oldest nonprofits dedicated to the conservation of Tennessee’s wildlife and natural resources, recently hosted the 52nd Annual Conservation Achievement Awards. The ceremony was held in Nashville and presented 17 awards to recipients from all corners of the state, including Shelbyville’s Wayne and Adrian Bomar and Darrell Bernd.

“We started these awards more than a half-century ago because we recognized that conserving our wildlife and natural places is the work over every Tennessean,” said Michael Butler, CEO of Tennessee Wildlife Federation. “No one organization or person, no matter how big or influential, can do it own their own.”

Water Conservationists of the Year

Wayne and Adrian Bomar recognized the gem that ran through their home of Shelbyville and set out to conserve it.

They are responsible for what has become a movement in Shelbyville—to clean up, and keep clean, the Duck River. The cause is now recognized city-wide and is moving into neighboring counties.

Darrell Bernd accepts the award for Wildlife Educator of the Year from Butler. (Submitted photo)

Hunter Education Instructor of the Year

Darrell Bernd is a prolific teacher who brings a large dose of humor to his classrooms. Bernd was certified as an instructor in July 1992. Since, he has taught or assisted with an unbelievable 705 classes.

He also created tools to assist his fellow teachers, which he shares with new instructors at the annual workshop.

The ceremony was emceed by WSM and Grand Ole Opry personality, Bill Cody. Cody presented each award, which span from Youth Conservationist and Conservation Educator to Land Conservationist and the lifetime achievement Z. Cartter Patten Award.

The event was sponsored by Bridgestone, PCA (Packaging Corporation of America) and First Tennessee.

The other honorees of the 52nd Annual Conservation Achievement Awards are as follows.

Others honored

J. Clark Akers Award – Dr. Jack Gayden of Memphis, Z. Cartter Patten Award – Jack Muncy of Norris, Conservationist of the Year – George Lindemann of Grandview, Chairman’s Award – Chris Koch of Germantown, Conservation Legislator of the Year – Senator Mike Bell of Riceville, Land Conservationist of the Year – Dr. David Sloas of Cordova,Forest Conservationist of the Year – Clarence Coffey of Crossville, Wildlife Conservationist of the Year – Conservation Fisheries based in Knoxville;

Conservation Organization of the Year – Tennessee Naturalist Program, Conservation Educator of the Year – Tish Gailmard of Signal Mountain, Conservation Communicator of the Year – Margie Hunter of Nashville, Youth Conservationist of the Year – Bobby Wade, Jr. of Memphis, Gedeon D. Petit Memorial Award – Pandy English of Franklin, On Target Award – Boyd Wade of Memphis, and Dan & Cherie Hammond Sharing the Harvest Award – Fred Heitman of Knoxville.

About Tennessee Wildlife Federation

Since 1946, the Tennessee Wildlife Federation leads the conservation, sound management and wise use of Tennessee’s great outdoors.

Over the course of 70 years, the Federation has led the development of the state’s wildlife policy, advanced landmark legislation on air and water quality and other conservation initiatives, helped restore numerous species, and introduced thousands of kids to