Schools recognized for behavorial support

Friday, February 9, 2018
Eakin Elementary received a silver award, the highest given. From left are Kim Harber, assistant principal Nichole Yockey, Kaitlyn Rowland, principal Dulcie Davis and Alyssa Cobb.
Submitted photos

Four local schools in Bedford County were recognized at the Partners in Education conference in Nashville for their work in RTI2-B, a positive behavioral support initiative led by the state. Over 300 schools have been trained in the Tennessee Behavior Supports Project in cooperation with Vanderbilt University. However, only 30 of those are Model of Demonstration schools.

Receiving silver award recognition (the highest award given) were Eakin Elementary and Learning Way Elementary. Receiving bronze award recognition was East Side Elementary, and Southside Elementary received an honorable mention.

Learning Way Elementary received a silver award, the highest given. From left are principal Kathy Reed, assistant principal Christi Lux, Ali Taylor and William Feck.

In 2016, The RTI2-B School of Recognition and Model of Demonstration School process was constructed to acknowledge schools for successful implementation of Response to Instruction and Intervention for Behavior (RTI2-B). The purpose of this identification is to promote schools sharing their practices, share examples of how the framework is being implemented, and celebrate each school’s effort and dedication to meeting the needs of all students.

Southside Elementary received an honorable mention. From left are Jeanna Brandon and principal Reita Vaughn.

Schools that meet the requirements for a School of Recognition may be selected to apply for a Model of Demonstration School designation. There are bronze and silver designations available for 2017-2018, depending on the fidelity of implementation at Tier I and Tier II. Schools will have the opportunity to apply for gold designation once they complete Tier III training.

For more information, go to

East Side Elementary received a bronze award. held by Julie BreAnne Patrick.