Early voting begins for Senate election

Thursday, February 22, 2018
Republican Shane Reeves, left, and Democrat Gayle Jordan

Early voting started Wednesday for the March 13 special election to fill the 14th District State Senate seat vacated by Jim Tracy last year.

Republican nominee Shane Reeves faces Democrat nominee Gayle Jordan.

Hours for early voting will be 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 8 a.m. until noon on Saturday. Early voting for all Bedford County citizens takes place in the basement of Bedford County Courthouse.

Area served

The district is composed of Bedford, Lincoln, Marshall, Moore and the eastern half of Rutherford counties. Both candidates are from Rutherford County, which is much more heavily populated than its rural neighbors.

Tracy, a Shelbyville resident who had served as Speaker Pro Tem of the Senate for most of 2017, resigned in November to accept a position with the U.S. Department of Agriculture as state director for Rural Development in Tennessee. Gov. Bill Haslam called a special election to fill the seat.

Voter turnout was quite low for the primary election in January. Reeves ran against former State Rep. Joe Carr in the Republican primary, while Jordan was unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Low turnout

During the primary, only 1,666 of the county's 22,555 registered voters participated, about 7 percent.

You do not need any reason or special paperwork to vote early in person. Just as on election day, you must present photo ID when you sign in.

For more information, call the county election office, 931-684-0531.