Central FFA members attend leadership camp

Sunday, June 10, 2018
Bedford County FFA of Shelbyville Central High School members attending State FFA Leadership Camp Clements were: (front row, from left) Lindsey Stephens, Rhiannon Overcast, Payton Costello, (middle row) James Atwood, Erin Bacon, Bradon York, Ryan Dye, Faith Williams, Elizabeth Atonsa, Bella Reed, Haley Henson, Mia Moore, (back row) Cali Mason, Allison McCarty, Brett Harden, Lawson Lemon, Emily Crabtree, and Dorothy Brandon.
Submitted photo

On Monday, May 28, 2018, the Bedford County FFA Chapter of Shelbyville Central High School traveled to Doyle, Tennessee, to attend State FFA Leadership Camp at Camp Clements. The members were able to take leadership classes, set goals for the chapter and themselves, compete in sporting events, compete in rifle range events, swim, canoe, boating, compete in quiz contests, and meet many different FFA members from around the state of Tennessee.

Brett Harden, Emily Crabtree, Lawson Lemmon, Allison McCarty, Dorothy Brandon, and Cali Mason represented the chapter by leading the flag raising ceremony on Thursday morning as well as presiding over the Thursday night session. Payton Costello represented the chapter in the camp talent show. Lawson Lemmon represented the chapter in the camp extemporaneous speaking contest and won sixth place for the event. Lawson Lemmon, Brett Harden, Emily Crabtree, and Cali Mason represented the chapter in the camp quiz bowl team event and won first place for the week. Emily Crabtree represented the chapter in the quiz contest and won first place. Lawson Lemmon was elected to the camp counsel to serve as the Sentinel for the week.

During the week, each member is assigned to a different athletic team so that they may develop a relationship with other members from around the state of Tennessee. Through the efforts on their sports teams, Emily Crabtree, Brett Harden, and Braden York were named athletes of the week for their teams.

Each member who attends camp is eligible to earn a bronze, silver, or gold leadership award for the week. Cali Mason earned a gold leadership award. Emily Crabtree, Brett Harden, Dorothy Brandon, and Elizabeth Atonsa earned silver leadership awards. Lindsey Stephens, Lawson Lemmon, Faith Williams, Mia Moore, Nick Moore, Haley Henson, Bradon York, James Atwood, Allison McCarty, and Bella Reed earned bronze leadership awards.

Sallie Lemmon and Erin Bacon served as chaperones for the week.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: