Letter to the Editor

School Board members recognized

Wednesday, January 29, 2020

School Board members recognized

To the Editor:

Bedford County Schools have joined with other school districts in saluting our local education leaders during Tennessee's annual School Board Appreciation Week -- January 27-31, 2020. The week is designed to recognize the contributions made by our school board members, who are given the tremendous responsibility of ensuring the education of Tennessee's youth.

School board members are elected by their communities to manage the local schools. They oversee multi-million dollar budgets which fund education programs. Their personnel decisions affect teachers, administrators and support workers.

These leaders are responsible for formulating school district policy, approving the curriculum, maintaining school facilities, and adhering to state and federal education laws. Legal concerns and the complexities of school finance, including budgeting and taxation, require them to spend many hours in board training programs and personal study to enhance their understanding of these issues.

Our deepest appreciation is extended to the dedicated men and women who make it possible for local citizens to participate in education. We salute the public servants of the Bedford County Board of Education whose commitment and civic responsibility make local control of public schools in this community possible.

Please join us by thanking our school board members during Tennessee's School Board Appreciation Week!


David Brown -- First District

Brian Crews -- Second District

Dan Reed -- Third District

Diane Neeley -- Fourth District

Michael Cook -- Fifth District

Dr. Andrea Anderson -- Sixth District

Nicole Cashion -- Seventh District

John Boutwell -- Eighth District

Glenn Forsee -- Ninth District

Respectfully submitted,

Don Embry

Superintendent of Schools

Guidelines for letters to the editor

The Times-Gazette publishes letters to the editor as space allows, and reserves the right to refuse any letter and to edit for content and length.

All letters become the property of the Times-Gazette upon submission. Letters must be typed or clearly handwrit­ten, and must include the phone number and address of the writer for verification purposes.

Please submit letters to tgnews@t-g.com, or mail them to: Times-Gazette, Attn: Letters to the Editor, P.O. Box 380, Shelbyville, TN, 37162. E-mail submission is preferred.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: